17 Prizes Awarded To the Winners of the 1st PD3C

Pekan, Saturday, 8 December 2018 – DRB-HICOM University of Automotive Malaysia (DRB-HICOM University), played host to the PROTON-DRB-HICOM University Creative Car Challenge (PD3C) grand finale at the university’s Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Chancellery Hall, held from 6 to 8 December 2018.

The event was officiated by Prof. Dato. Sr. Dr. Omar bin Osman, the Vice Chancellor of DRB-HICOM University. Also present at the ceremony were Prof. Madya Dr. Mohamad Hariri bin Abdullah, Director of Malaysia Design Council (MRM) and En. Anuar Mohd Nor, Head of Engineering Service & Prototype, Group Engineering, PROTON.

PD3C was organised in collaboration with PROTON as the main sponsor and MRM as its technical partner. Aimed to inculcate a creative and innovative culture between automotive students and lecturers of various institutions, PD3C was aimed to be the key platform to spur budding talents in the automotive industry. Innovation via automotive designers and engineers from local universities and institutions of higher learning, as well as the automotive industry came together at the grand event.

Over 20 higher learning institutions participated in the 3-day event. The competition was divided into three main challenges related to the automotive industry – Creative Car Challenge, Car Modelling Challenge and Design Battle.  A total of 13 teams competed in the finals of the Creative Car Challenge, 9 teams in the Car Modelling Challenge and 33 in the Design Battle.

During his closing speech, Prof. Omar said, “PD3C is the first car design competition organised by DRB-HICOM University to unleash talents from Institutes of Higher Learning in Malaysia, incorporating automotive design and application of the latest technologies and innovations, from the chassis of the PROTON model cars handed over to competing teams.”

For the main competition, Creative Car Challenge, 10 prizes were awarded to the winners – RM7,000 to the champion, RM5,000 for 2nd placing, RM3,000 for 3rd placing and RM1,000 for 4th placing.  Prizes were also awarded to the Best Viral Interior Design, Best Viral Exterior Design, Best Engineered Car, Best Presentation, Best Video and Best Teamwork.

A total of 4 prizes were awarded to the winners of the Car Modelling Challenge – RM2,500 for 1st placing, RM2,000 for 2nd placing, RM1,500 for 3rd placing, and a special award for the Best Presentation. The Design Battle awarded 3 prizes to the winners- RM1,200, RM1,000 and RM800 to the first, second and third places respectively.

DRB-HICOM hopes that the competition would create a bridge of knowledge sharing between the automotive industry and academic institutions in Malaysia. By organising this event, DRB-HICOM inspires to be a major focus in the field of design and innovation for the automotive industry in the ASEAN region.

Below is the list of winners:

  • Winners for PROTON & DRB-HICOM University Creative Car Challenge.

Gold Medal- INVICTUS by Asia Pacific University

Silver Medal- SCRUMPTIOUS FOOD CAR by University Malaya

Bronze Medal- DEUTRO by Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin

Copper Medal- ENVYSAGE by Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia

  • Special Awards Winners for PROTON & DRB-HICOM University Creative Car Challenge.

Most Viral Social Media Post (Exterior Design)- PROTON EDGE by Universiti Malaysia Perlis

Most Vital Social Media Post (Interior Design)- PROTON EDGE by Universiti Malaysia Perlis

Best Engineered Car- IRIZ INFINITY by Universiti Kuala Lumpur

Best Video- INTERESA by Advanced Technology Training Center Melaka

Best Teamwork- DEUTRO by Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin

Best Presentation- Team Mara B by Mara Skills Institute Jasin, Mara High Skills College Rembau and Mara High Skills College Masjid Tanah.

  • Winners for PROTON & DRB-HICOM Car Modelling Challenge.

Gold Medal- University Sultan Zainal Abidin

Silver Medal- Politeknik Sultan Ibrahim

Bronze Medal- Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM)

Best Presentation- University Sultan Zainal Abidin

  • Winners for PROTON & DRB-HICOM University Design Battle.

Gold Medal- Mohamed Saiful b Abdul Halim (University Sultan Zainal Abidin)

Silver Medal- Ahmad Zul Khairi b Mohd Othman (University Sultan Zainal Abidin)

Bronze Medal- Khoo Wern Sheung.